2017 NASCAR Hall of Fame Class Includes Two Current Team Owners

Photo by Geoff Burke/Getty Images for NASCAR

By Summer Bedgood, Managing Editor

The 2017 NASCAR Hall of Fame class will include some familiar names of the sport today and other names that are deeply entrenched in the history of this sport.

On January 20th, 2017, the following individuals will be inducted into the NASCAR Hall of Fame: Richard Childress, Rick Hendrick, Mark Martin, Raymond Parks, and Benny Parsons.

Childress and Hendrick will both have multiple cars racing in the Coca-Cola 600 at Charlotte Motor Speedway this upcoming Sunday. Childress has won 11 championships across NASCAR’s three national series while Hendrick has won 14. Richard Childress Racing fields three teams in the Sprint Cup Series with Austin Dillon, Paul Menard, and Ryan Newman while Hendrick Motorsports has drivers Dale Earnhardt Jr., Chase Elliott, Jimmie Johnson, and Kasey Kahne.

Martin won 96 races in his NASCAR career, including 49 in what is now the XFINITY Series and 40 in the Sprint Cup Series. Though he never won a championship, he finished second in the championship standings five times in his Cup Series career.

Parks is largely credited with helping Bill France found NASCAR and was the first championship car owner in the sport with driver Red Byron.

Finally, Parsons was the 1973 premier series champion, won 21 races in his career, and spent many years in the television booth and on pit road for networks like ABC, NBC, among others.

Martinsville Speedway founder H. Clay Earles was the recipient of this year’s Landmark Award for Outstanding Contributions to NASCAR.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *