Keselowski Wins XFINITY Series Pole Over Jones In Tiebreaker

Photo by Sarah Crabill/NASCAR via Getty Images

By Summer Bedgood, Managing Editor

Fort Worth, Texas – In a rare tie for the top spot, Brad Keselowski was awarded the pole by virtue of a tiebreaker as both he and Erik Jones had an identical lap time of 28.891 seconds in NASCAR XFINITY Series qualifying. They will both start on the front row for this afternoon’s O’Reilly Auto Parts Challenge, but Keselowski will have lane choice.

Matt Tifft, on a weekend where he announced a full-time deal with Joe Gibbs racing in the XFINITY Series next weekend, will start third on the grid. Daniel Suarez and Kyle Larson rounded out the top-five.

Justin Allgaier, Austin Dillon, Elliott Sadler, Kevin Harvick, and Brennan Poole completed the top 10.

Chase drivers:

  • Erik Jones – 2nd
  • Daniel Suarez – 4th
  • Justin Allgaier – 6th
  • Elliott Sadler – 8th
  • Blake Koch – 12th
  • Ryan Reed – 13th
  • Brendan Gaughan – 16th
  • Darrell Wallace Jr. – 18th

This was the final on-track activity for the XFINITY Series before the race this afternoon. The race will begin around 3PM ET.

Full Results

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *