JR Motorsports Removes Truck Series Team from 2017 Plans

Kena Krutsinger/NASCAR via Getty Images

After two seasons in the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series, JR Motorsports will cease to field an entry in the series in 2017.

The team confirmed the news in response to a fan on Twitter early Tuesday morning.

The tweet reads: “We won’t be fielding a Truck team in 2017. But we had a blast competing in that series in 2015-16.”

The announcement comes as former JRM NCWTS driver Cole Custer moves to the XFINITY Series. Custer, 19, made 33 starts in the team’s No. 00 Chevrolet over the past two seasons, earning 18 top 10s, seven top fives and a victory at Gateway Motorsports Park in 2015.

JRM also fielded a group of Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series regulars including Alex Bowman, Kasey Kahne, Kevin Harvick, Kyle Larson and Jeb Burton. Kahne is responsible for the team’s only victory without Custer – a photo-finish triumph at Charlotte Motor Speedway in 2015.

After making the majority of his starts in the NCWTS over the last three seasons, Custer will step up to run the NXS championship in 2017 with the newly-expanded Stewart-Haas Racing Ford program.

JRM will focus on the NXS as well, fielding five teams in 2017. Incoming rookie William Byron will join veterans Elliott Sadler, Justin Allgaier and Michael Annett to compete for the series championship. JRM will also field an extra entry, with Dale Earnhardt, Jr., and others expected to compete on the NXS tour on a part-time basis.

What will become of JRM’s trucks and equipment is unknown at this time.


  1. Kenneth Rhodes

    May 12, 2017 at 8:04 pm

    Sorry to hear no more nwts racing.ill be watching for your nationwide cars

  2. Kenneth Rhodes

    May 12, 2017 at 8:13 pm

    Good luck with your new family in 2018 sorry to hear your retirement from NASCAR

  3. Terry Morgan

    July 6, 2017 at 10:15 pm

    Hope you enjoy your new life JR YOU Tha Man BEST wishes to you and yours

  4. discount ecco coupon

    August 30, 2017 at 8:35 am

    Resources this kind of as the one you mentioned here will be extremely useful to myself! I will publish a hyperlink to this page on my personalized blog. Im certain my site website visitors will discover that very helpful.
    discount ecco coupon http://www.matchesvogue.co.uk

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *