INDYCAR releases 2017 TV schedule

Bret Kelley/IndyCar Bret Kelley/IndyCar

The 2017 Verizon IndyCar Series season will be broadcast on the same two networks as 2017, with ABC and NBC combining to show the full 17-race tour.

NBCSN will carry the brunt of the schedule, showing 12 of the 17 races including the final nine events of the season starting with Texas and ending with the championship race at Sonoma. The network saw record numbers in 2016, tallying more than 6.5 million viewers for NBC Sports Group to set their best season total since acquiring IndyCar rights in 2009.

“As the U.S. television home of motorsports, we’re proud to showcase the thrilling speed and exciting racing that the Verizon IndyCar Series delivers each year,” NBC Sports & NBCSN president of programming Jon Miller said. “Our INDYCAR coverage in 2016 reached more fans than ever before, and we look forward to building off of that success as we crown yet another INDYCAR champion on NBCSN in 2017.”

While ABC will broadcast only five races, the network can again claim the sport’s biggest race – the 101st Running of the Indianapolis 500 on May 28. This will be the 58th time ABC has aired the prestigious event, dubbed the “Greatest Spectacle in Racing”.

“Coming off of another year of growth for the IndyCar Series, we look forward to continuing our long relationship with the series and the Indianapolis 500 in 2017,” ESPN vice president, league sports programming Julie Sobieski said. “There’s nothing like the Month of May at Indianapolis with three very different weekends for race fans that culminate with ABC’s 53rd year at the Indianapolis 500. And it’s always exciting for us to restart the year in St. Petersburg and conclude our portion of the season with two consecutive days of live racing action from Detroit. It’s a diverse and vibrant schedule for us.”

The season will begin with ABC at St. Petersburg before going to NBCSN for Long Beach, Barber and Phoenix. ABC will then take the reigns for four races, beginning with the Grand Prix of Indianapolis and running through the Detroit doubleheader. NBCSN will then take over for the rest of the schedule.

The 2017 IndyCar season will begin on Mar. 12 at St. Petersburg.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *