Phoenix replaces Indianapolis as XFINITY Series Dash4Cash returns

Brian Lawdermilk/Getty Images

By Aaron Bearden, Motorsports Editor

A venue swap and slight format change highlight the upcoming ninth season for the NASCAR XFINITY Series’ four-race Dash4Cash program in 2017.

The first change comes in one of the four races. The Mar. 18 race at Phoenix International Raceway has been added as the first race of the program, replacing Indianapolis Motor Speedway. The remaining rounds will be held at Bristol Motor Speedway (April 22), Richmond International Raceway (April 29) and Dover International Speedway (June 3).

The format for the program has also changed.

Gone are the heat races used to grid the field and designate Dash4Cash contestants last season, replaced by the new year-long segmentation of races. Coors Light Pole qualifying will now determine the starting grid for Dash4Cash races, as it does for typical events.

The four participants in the $100,000 contest will be selected during each race’s two opening stages. The top two XFINITY Series points-earning drivers in each segment will qualify for the Dash4Cash in the Final Stage. The two drivers that advance in the first stage won’t have their finish counted toward the opportunity in Stage Two, allowing the next-highest finishing driver to qualify if necessary.

Once the Final Stage begins, the top finisher among the four qualifying drivers will win the $100,000 prize.

Any driver that earns two Dash4Cash victories (not race wins) will earn playoff eligibility, the equivalent of a race victory.

Erik Jones (two wins), Ty Dillon and Justin Allgaier each claimed victories in the Dash4Cash in 2016. Jones could have used the twin triumphs to guarantee a birth in the then-Chase had he not already secured a victory earlier in the year.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *