Cup Series stars set to start 2017 in Advance Auto Parts Clash


By Aaron Bearden, Motorsports Editor

The Daytona 500 won’t be contested until next week, but 17 Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series drivers will get an early look at the 2.5-mile Daytona International Speedway in this weekend’s 39th-annual Advance Auto Parts Clash.

The season-opening exhibition race will kick off at 8 p.m. ET, and will be contested by some of the best drivers on NASCAR’s top tour.

Drivers qualified for the Clash in multiple ways. Every pole-sitter from 2016 is eligible to compete, as are previous Clash winners, past Daytona 500 pole-sitters who competed full-time last season and all 16 playoff participants from 2016.

Previous Clash champions included in Saturday’s race include Kevin Harvick, Jimmie Johnson, Kurt and Kyle Busch, Matt Kenseth and defending race winner Denny Hamlin, who also went on to claim last year’s Daytona 500.

Four eligible drivers won’t be competing.

Fan-favorite Dale Earnhardt, Jr.’s racing return will wait until Thurday’s Can-Am Duels as he sits out to allow Phoenix International Raceway pole-sitter Alex Bowman to compete in the No. 88 Chevrolet. Greg Biffle will miss the event because he’s still in search of a ride, and retired stars Carl Edwards and Tony Stewart will no longer compete in NASCAR.

The Clash will consist of 75 laps around the 2.5-mile oval split into two segments – the first lasting 25 laps, followed by a 50-lap shootout. The starting grid and pit selection will be set by a random draw on Friday.

Coverage for the Advance Auto Parts Clash at Daytona will begin on Feb. 18 at 8 p.m. ET. Coverage can be found on FOX Sports 1, with radio coverage found on the Motor Racing Network and SiriusXM NASCAR Radio.


Friday, Feb. 17

5:00 – 5:55 p.m.: MENCS Practice

6:30 – 7:25 p.m.: MENCS Final Practice

Saturday, Feb. 18:

8:00 p.m.: Advance Auto Parts Clash

Entry Vehicle No. Driver Team Penske Crew Chief Car Sponsor
1 1 Jamie McMurray Chip Ganassi Racing Matt McCall 17 Chevrolet McDonald’s Big Mac
2 2 Brad Keselowski Team Penske Paul Wolfe 17 Ford SKF
3 3 Austin Dillon Richard Childress Racing Slugger Labbe 17 Chevrolet Dow
4 4 Kevin Harvick Stewart-Haas Racing Rodney Childers 17 Ford Busch Beer Ford Fusion
5 10 Danica Patrick Stewart-Haas Racing Billy Scott 17 Ford TaxAct Ford Fusion
6 11 Denny Hamlin Joe Gibbs Racing Michael Wheeler 17 Toyota FedEx Express
7 18 Kyle Busch Joe Gibbs Racing Adam Stevens 17 Toyota M&M’s
8 19 Daniel Suarez Joe Gibbs Racing Dave Rogers 17 Toyota ARRIS
9 20 Matt Kenseth Joe Gibbs Racing Jason Ratcliff 17 Toyota Interstate Batteries Camry
10 22 Joey Logano Team Penske Todd Gordon 17 Ford Shell Pennzoil Ford
11 24 Chase Elliott Hendrick Motorsports Alan Gustafson 17 Chevrolet NAPA
12 37 Chris Buescher JTG Daugherty Racing Trent Owens 17 Chevrolet Kroger Click List
13 41 Kurt Busch Stewart-Haas Racing Tony Gibson 17 Ford Monster Energy/Haas Automation Fusion
14 42 Kyle Larson Chip Ganassi Racing Chad Johnston 17 Chevrolet Credit One Bank
15 48 Jimmie Johnson Hendrick Motorsports Chad Knaus 17 Chevrolet Lowe’s
16 78 Martin Truex Jr Furniture Row Racing Cole Pearn 17 Toyota 5-hour ENERGY Extra Strength
17 88 Alex Bowman Hendrick Motorsports Greg Ives 17 Chevrolet Nationwide

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *