600 Miles of Remembrance

Photo courtesy Getty Images/NASCAR

By Jerry Jordan, Editor

CONCORD, N.C. – Continuing a long tradition of honoring those who’ve lost their lives defending America through their military service NASCAR will memorialize 40 men and women, each one atop the windshields of their racing machines as drivers battle for victory in the longest race of the year – the Coca-Cola 600.

Each name represents a story of why, when and how these brave soldiers decided to serve the United State but with each lost life there is a family reflecting on loved ones taken from them too soon. While many people enjoy Memorial Day with a weekend at the beach, the lake or hopefully at the racetrack, it’s a bittersweet moment as fun times give way to honor and remembrance.

“I hope everything hat NASCAR does is a morale boost for our veterans because they deserve that every day we get up and take a breath,” said NASCAR Vice Chairman Mike Helton.

Below is a list of names for the soldiers who will be honored during the Coca-Cola 600 along with the car and driver that each will ride along with.

1 Jamie McMurray SPC Benjamin Moore Army Bordentown, NJ
42 Kyle Larson SPC David Taylor Army Dixon, KY
3 Austin Dillon SO1 Joshua Thomas Harris Navy Lexington, NC
27 Paul Menard EM3 Lloyd Harold Tussey Navy Davidson County, NC
31 Ryan Newman LCPL Daniel Freeman Swaim Marines Yadkinville, NC
5 Kasey Kahne SSG Joshua R. Hager Army Denver, CO
24 Chase Elliott CPT Todd Tyler Christmas Army Las Vegas, NM
48 Jimmie Johnson SPC Michael J. Rodriguez Army Sanford, NC
88 Dale Earnhardt Jr. PFC James McClamrock Army Huntersville, NC
33 Jeffrey Earnhardt CPL Aaron D. Gautier Army Hampton, VA
37 Chris Buescher SO1 Jason Lewis Navy Brookfield, CT
47 AJ Allmendinger SPC Douglas J Green Army Sterling, VA
13 Ty Dillon CPL Nathaniel Thomas Hammond Marines Brighton, MO
15 Reed Sorenson SPC Christopher Ryan Barton Army Harrisburg, NC
55 Derrike Cope SSG Brandon Forrest Eggleston Army Eden, NC
72 Cole Whitt SFC Paul Drasutis Army NG Defiance, OH
51 Timmy Hill SFC Matthew Sluss-Tiller Army Lawrence County, KY
7 JJ Yeley LCPL Alejandro J. Yazzie Marines Rock Point, AZ
95 Michael McDowell SPC Nick Newby Army Coeur d’ Alene, ID
6 Trevor Bayne 2LT Peter Burks Army Dallas, TX
17 Ricky Stenhouse Jr. LCPL Taylor Prazynski Marines Hill Air Force Base, UT
4 Kevin Harvick CAPT Brent Morel Marines McKenzie, TN
10 Danica Patrick LCPL Scott Harper Marines Douglas, GA
14 Clint Bowyer SSG Terry D. Wagoner Army Piedmont, SC
41 Kurt Busch SGT Robert S. Matern Marines Worcester, MA
34 Landon Cassill Michael E. Murdock Army Chocowinity, NC
38 David Ragan Michael Strange Navy Philadelphia
2 Brad Keselowski SSGT Nicholas A. Sprovtsoff Marines Davison, MI
22 Joey Logano MSG Anthony Ray Charles Yost Army Flint, MI
21 Ryan Blaney SGT Gregory Allen Belanger Army Reserves Deerfield, MA
41 Aric Almirola SRA Mark A. Forester Air Force Haleyville, AL
32 Matt Dibenedetto CPL Riley Elam Baker Marines Eureka, MO
11 Denny Hamlin CLP John Harrison Keener Jr. Army Franklin, NC
18 Kyle Busch PFC William Christopher Johnson Army Oxford, NC
19 Daniel Suarez SSG Christpher W. Swanson Army Rosehaven, Maryland
20 Matt Kenseth SPC Jeffrey P. Shaffer Army Waco, TX
78 Martin Truex Jr. 2LT John C. Yates Marines Fergus Falls, MN
77 Erik Jones LCPL Matthias N. Hanson Marines Buffalo, KY
23 Gray Gaulding SGT. Christopher Richard Hrbek Marines Westwood, NJ
83 Corey Lajoie CAPT Brandon A. Barrett Marines Albuquerque, NM


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *