Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series trophy unveiled as playoffs approach


By Aaron Bearden, Motorsports Editor

With the 10-race playoff to decide the 2017 Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series champion just two weeks away, the trophy that each of the 16 playoff participants will be competing for has finally been revealed.

NASCAR officially unveiled the new Cup Series championship trophy on Thursday, finally giving fans a glimpse at the hardware up for grabs under Monster Energy’s tenure as series sponsor.

The trophy – named the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup – is as massive as one might assume a trophy befitting a sport’s champion would be. Made of machined aluminum, the trophy stands at just over 37 inches tall, and weighs a hefty 68 pounds.

All 23 tracks that currently sit on the Cup Series schedule are emblazoned

(Photo: NASCAR)

along the trophy, and Monster Energy’s signature claw is embedded in the trophy’s base.  A hand-formed series seal can be found below the Cup itself.

The trophy was designed by Jostens. The release notes that the the trophy “required 300 hours of craftsmanship for its completion,” and that throughout its’ design “more than 30 design variations were created exclusively for NASCAR.”

“Our goal with the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup was to capture the full championship story that unfolds over the course of a season,” Curt Bruns, vice president, motorsports division at Jostens, said in a release. “We are honored to work with NASCAR to create this original piece of art that embodies what it takes to excel at the sport’s highest level.”

The trophy will go to the winner of the 10-race Cup Series playoffs. The postseason will begin with the Round of 16 at Chicagoland Speedway on Sept. 17. The round will end with races at New Hampshire Motor Speedway (Sept. 24) and Dover International Speedway (Oct. 1).

The Round of 12 will come next at Charlotte Motor Speedway (Oct. 7), Talladega Superspeedway (Oct. 15) and Kansas Speedway (Oct. 22), following by the Round of 8 at Martinsville Speedway (Oct. 29), Texas Motor Speedway (Nov. 5) and Phoenix Raceway (Nov. 12).

The Championship 4 finale will be held at Homestead-Miami Speedway on Nov. 19.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *