Contingency awards announced at 2017 NASCAR NMPA Myers Brothers Awards


By Caleb Whisler, Staff Writer

Before the banquet on Thursday, NASCAR and the National Motorsports Press Association hosted the 2017 Myers Brothers Awards.

This ceremony features and highlights industry and contingency awards for the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series. Here is  the list of winners at the 2017 NASCAR NMPA Myers Brothers Award:

Erik Jones accepted the Sunoco Rookie of the Year Award for the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series. Jones becomes the first driver to win rookie of the year honors across all three of NASCAR’s national divisions.

Bruton Smith, executive chairman of Speedway Motorsports Inc., was announced as the winner of the 61st Buddy Shuman Award for his contribution to the sport.

Kyle Busch was announced as the overall Coors Light Pole Award winner for the most poles in the 2017 season at eight. Busch. Busch was also recognized with the Sherwin Williams Fastest Lap Award. Miller Coors also donated money to the Kyle Busch Foundation’s Bundle of Joy Fund.

Fox Sports and NBC Sports were announced as joint recipients of the 2017 NASCAR Marketing Achievement Award for their contribution throughout the season integrating NASCAR into its broader suite of media company assets, putting the sport in front of non-traditional audiences to help grow appeal across key demographics.

The pit crew of Ky. Busch was announced as the winner of the Mechanix Wear Most Valuable Pit Crew Award.

Daytona 500 winning crew chief, Tony Gibson, was announced as the Moog Go the Extra Mile Crew Chief of the Year award. Kurt Busch accepted the award on Gibson’s behalf. This award was awarded to Gibson for having the greatest improvement from the first half of the race to the second half of the race.

Toyota Racing Development (TRD) was announced as the winner of the Mahle Engine Builder of the Year Award. David Wilson accepted the award for TRD. The award was tied to the performance of Ky. Busch and his No. 18 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota team.

Kyle Larson was announced as the Mobil 1 Driver of the Year award and a check for $100,000.

Dale Earnhardt Jr. was honored by Chevrolet with the Lifetime Achievement Award. Chevrolet also donated a car to the Dale Jr Foundation for auction.

The American Ethanol Award went to Martin Truex Jr. Truex was also honored with the Sunoco Diamond Performance Award. Truex also received the 24K gold 1:24 replica Goodyear Gold Car for winning the championship. Cole Pearn, crew chief for Truex, was honored with the 2017 Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series Crew Chief Award.

The winner of the 2017 Myers Brothers Award as voted on by members of the National Motorsports Press Association went to Truex and longtime girlfriend, Sherry Pollex, for their charity contributions and accomplishments while facing adversity through their cause for research and treatment of pediatric and ovarian cancer.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *