Eligibility announced for ‘The Clash’ at Daytona

Nigel Kinrade/NKPPhoto

By Caleb Whisler, Staff Writer

On Monday morning, NASCAR announced the eligibility requirements for the Clash at Daytona, a preliminary event of Speedweeks at Daytona for the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series.

The eligibility requirements for the Clash includes 2017 Coors Light Pole Award winners, former Daytona 500 pole winners and 2017 Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series playoffs drivers. The eligibility requirements for the 2018 Clash will be consistent with 2017 eligibility.

“A double-header, featuring The Clash and Daytona 500 qualifying, is a great way to start the 2018 season,” said Steve O’Donnell, NASCAR executive vice president and chief racing development officer. “The urgency created by the non-points race sets a tone for the season, providing a strong preview of the competition we expect will be a mainstay all year long.”

“For four decades, the Advance Auto Parts Clash has been a staple of the Speedweeks lineup,” Daytona International Speedway President Chip Wile said. “The event has a rich history and serves as a preview to the Can-Am Duel qualifying races and the DAYTONA 500. Combining the Advance Auto Parts Clash and DAYTONA 500 Qualifying on the same day will deliver race fans a full day of NASCAR action.”

Ryan Blaney, Kurt Busch, Kyle Busch, Dale Earnhardt Jr., Chase Elliott, Denny Hamlin, Kevin Harvick, Erik Jones, Matt Kenseth, Brad Keselowski, Kyle Larson, Joey Logano, Ricky Stenhouse Jr., Martin Truex Jr., Austin Dillon, Jimmie Johnson, Danica Patrick, Kasey Kahne, Jamie McMurray and Ryan Newman will be able to participate in the event.

Despite having 20 drivers eligible, the race could feature only 17 drivers as Patrick and Kenseth have yet to announce rides for the 2018 and Earnhardt is enjoying his retirement from full-time driving in the premier series. Luckily, there is not a pre-determined amount of cars that could participate.

The Clash at Daytona will be a 75-lap event with a competition caution on lap 25. The race will follow Daytona 500 pole qualifying on Sunday, February 11th. The race will air live on Fox Sports 1 and Motor Racing Network beginning at 3 p.m. ET.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *