Hailie Deegan joins Bill McAnally Racing for K&N Pro Series Slate

(Photo: Bill McAnally Racing)

By Aaron Bearden, Motorsports Editor

Look out, NASCAR. A new fast female is on the rise.

Bill McAnally Racing (BMR) announced Wednesday that Hailie Deegan will join the organization in 2018, piloting the team’s No. 19 Toyota Camry.

Deegan, 16, will compete in the full 15-race NASCAR K&N Pro Series West (KNPSW) tour, with additional starts expected in the K&N Pro Series East. She’ll run with sponsorship from Mobil 1 and NAPA Power Premium Plus in the effort.

“We’re very pleased to announce that Hailie will make her debut in the NASCAR K&N Series driving for Bill McAnally Racing,” BMR President Bill McAnally said in a team release. “She’s a very talented driver, who brings with her a lot of energy and excitement.

“We look forward to being a big part of Hailie’s development as she takes this next step in her racing career. We anticipate great things ahead for everybody, including our partners and fans.”

The daughter of X-Games legend Brian Deegan, Hailie arrives at BMR after a handful of test sessions in the car, and as a member of the 2017-18 class of the NASCAR Next program.

“I’m really excited,” Deegan said of joining BMR. “This is the best team and equipment in the series. BMR has been great to work with. I look forward to racing at a high level on the East and West coasts with the top team. We are ready to put in the work to continue being a serious competitor.”

While only 16, the Californian has nearly a decade of experience in motorsports, with a specialty in off-road racing. She’s tallied both wins an championships in the Lucas Oil Off-Road Racing Series, where she most recently competed in the Pro Lite division in 2017.

Deegan has also made her debut in stock cars, having driven in a late model division at California’s Madera Speedway last season. She additionally made two starts in the CARS Super Late Model Tour, scoring finishes of 11th and 14th, respectively, at Tri-County Motor Speedway and Hickory Speedway.

BMR scored their eighth KNPSW championship in 2017, winning 11 of the tour’s 14 races with champion Todd Gilliland, Chris Eggleston and Derek Kraus.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *