NASCAR explains penalty to Stenhouse

Nigel Kinrade/NKPPhoto

By Caleb Whisler, Staff Writer

Following the Advance Auto Parts Clash at Daytona International Speedway, confusion arose following a penalty given to Ricky Stenhouse Jr.

Going into turn three, Stenhouse had a run on Kyle Busch and tried to make a move on the inside line.

According to the NASCAR Rule Book, a driver cannot go below the double yellow line at Daytona and Talladega and advance their position. A driver would not be penalized if they were forced below the line at the discretion of the sanctioning body. Stenhouse could have given the gained position back and not received a penalty.

NASCAR deemed that Stenhouse was not forced below the yellow line and black-flagged him for a pass-through penalty on Lap 41. His crew chief, Brian Pattie, tried to petition NASCAR to rescind the penalty, but was unsuccessful. If he would have immediately given the position back, Stenhouse would have been in a position to win the race. NASCAR executive vice president and chief racing development officer, Steve O’Donnell, went on social media to tell fans that the decision was a tough call.

Stenhouse went on Twitter to explain what he would do differently.

 

Stenhouse finished the Clash in the 16th position, three laps down.

3 Comments

  1. Mike

    February 12, 2018 at 8:50 am

    O’Donnell is nowhere near as good at this kind of call as Mike Helton was. He is dead wrong here. No call would have been the right call.

  2. Brian

    February 12, 2018 at 10:45 am

    So basically NASCAR’s own rules are not followed by the head official. So going forward driver no matter what hold you line above the yellow line and if the car in the 2nd lane comes down to block while you inside his left rear hold your line and have the other driver crash yourself and whomever else is collateral damage. Nice job Stevie boy. Just cost some owners any savings garnered with the pit crew member reduction due likely wrecked race cars at some point during the four plate races.

  3. Mike

    February 12, 2018 at 12:21 pm

    if anyone remembers when Brad Keselowski won at Talledega in a one off race while Carl Edwards went literally flying into the wall? That was a direct result of the moronic officiating of this rule. Brad even stated he wasn’t going to go below the yellow line and when Carl came down to block him in the tri-oval Brad didn’t move down. This was a direct result of the previous restrictor plate race that a driver was forced below the line by Tony Stewart at the finish won the race and it was taken away because he went below the line. Lets face it people if it wasn’t Kyle Busch or one of the other key drivers that pay homage to NASCAR it WOULD have been a different call. we all know Kyle pulls that crap…..he did it at Vegas to Logano last year and presided to Blame Logano for being in his way. But of course nothing will change until someone important gets hurt. That’s the way NASCAR operates.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *