Trump Coin Ad
Kickin The Tires

Self Takes Pole for Daytona ARCA Race

Courtesy photo

By Tim Packman

DAYTONA BEACH, FL – When the group qualifying session ended at Daytona International Speedway on Saturday afternoon, it was Michael Self in the No. 25 Toyota of Venturini Motorsports claiming top honors.

Clear skies, light winds and 64-degree temps greeted the 33 entrants that comprised the six groups for qualifying.

Self, of Salt Lake City, UT, earned the seventh Daytona pole award for the Venturini team. He is also the 2020 series point leader since ARCA awards five points for qualifying.

“This is awesome, great start to the season for all on the team,” Self said. “Huge props to all drivers in our group getting together like we did because that’s what it takes to go fast hear.

“Winning the pole is just a small piece of the puzzle before we race here later today.”

Self is the 2017 Daytona-race winner and finished second in points last season.

Rounding out the top-10 qualifiers was Andy Suess, Dave Mader, Jason White, Drew Dollar, Riley Herbst, Hallie Deegan, Connor Hall, David Gravel and Dominque Van Wieringen.

The qualifying time of Thad Moffitt was disallowed by ARCA officials.

Race time is 4:45 p.m. ET airing on FS1 TV and MRN Radio.

ARCA Starting Line-up

  1. Michael Self
  2. Andy Seuss
  3. Dave Mader
  4. Jason White
  5. Drew Dollar
  6. Riley Herbst
  7. Hailie Deegan
  8. Connor Hall
  9. David Gravel
  10. Dominique Van Wieringen
  11. Tanner Gray
  12. Jacob Heafner
  13. Ryan Repko
  14. Gus Dean
  15. Jason Kitzmiller
  16. J.J. Pack
  17. Chuck Hiers
  18. Bret Holmes
  19. Natalie Decker
  20. Sean Corr
  21. Willie Mullins
  22. Thomas Praytor
  23. Scott Melton
  24. John Ferrier
  25. Benny Chastain
  26. Eric Caudell
  27. Tim Richmond
  28. Scott Reeves
  29. Brad Smith
  30. Ryan Huff
  31. Charles Buchanan
  32. Con Nicolopoulos
  33. Thad Moffitt

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *