Majeski virtually perfect in Friday Night Thunder victory

Photo by SETH EGGERT for KICKIN' THE TIRES / iRacing

By Seth Eggert, Staff Writer

eNASCAR Friday Night Thunder’s visit to the virtual Martinsville Speedway was nothing short of perfection for Ty Majeski.

The driver of the virtual No. 45 CMR Construction and Roofing Chevrolet Camaro SS led all but one of the 125 laps at ‘The Paperclip.’ Whether it was Josh Berry, Donny Lia, or Alex Labbe, no one could match Majeski on restarts.

The biggest test for the NASCAR Gander RV & Outdoors Truck Series driver came under caution with under 15 laps to go. As Majeski cruised to catch the pace car, Stephen Leicht, whose spin brought out the yellow, crossed the frontstretch.

The virtual No. 25 Jani-King Toyota Supra clipped the left front of the No. 45. Donny Lia slapped the outside to avoid Leicht. Leicht was immediately parked by race control for the incident.

The damage to Majeski’s car was minimal. He continued to catch his competition sleeping on the final two restarts. Majeski took the checkered flag with 1.021 seconds over Labbe.

“Definitely long overdue,” explained Majeski. “I’ve always had speed but could never put a whole race together. I don’t run these big cars a ton, so it took a bit for me to find my rhythm in them. It was difficult to get the strategies right, I hurt myself missing the strategy in Pro Invitational and Saturday Night Thunder races.

“Just learned each and every week and I was finally able to put it all together tonight. It certainly helps being on a short track which is what I primarily do her on iRacing. So, it was in my wheelhouse. Thankfully I was able to hold all of those guys off on the restarts and put a whole race together.”

Newcomer Stefan Parsons finish third with Lia and Berry rounding out the top-five. Chase Cabre, Derek Kraus, Anthony Alfredo, Noah Gragson, and Drew Herring rounded out the top-10.

The race was slowed nine times by cautions. Although drivers were not directly limited by the number of fast repairs available, using two or more resulted in one lap penalties. A couple drivers were even disqualified once they reached five or more fast repairs used.

A recurring theme in the cautions throughout the night were Gragson, Ty Gibbs, Todd Gilliland, and Drew Dollar. Whether it was no fault of their own or an incident started by them, the four up-and-coming drivers often found themselves in the thick of the action. While the former two finished in the top-11, the latter two used one too many fast repairs.

The Finish

1. 45-Ty Majeski [1], 2. 90-Alex Labbe [4], 3. 83-Stefan Parsons [8], 4. 07-Donny Lia [3], 5. 88-Josh Berry [7], 6. 4-Chase Cabre [5], 7. 19-Derek Kraus [15], 8. 33-Anthony Alfredo [2], 9. 9-Noah Gragson [20], 10. 3-Drew Herring [26], 11. 18-Ty Gibbs [29], 12. 93-Myatt Snider [22], 13. 74-Bayley Currey [12], 14. 98-Grant Enfinger [25], 15. 81-Christian Eckes [24], 16. 78-Ryan Ellis [28], 17. 99-Josh Bilicki [14], 18. 89-Landon Huffman [18], 19. 29-Kaz Grala [23], 20. 40-Ryan Truex [21], 21. 23-Brett Moffitt [13], 22. 7-Justin Allgaier [11], 23. 54-Kyle Weatherman [19], 24. 20-Harrison Burton [10], 25. 36-Jesse Iwuji [27], 26. 67-Logan Seavey [16], 27. 8-Jeb Burton [30], 28. 38-Todd Gilliland [9], 29. 25-Stephen Leicht [6], 30. 15-Drew Dollar [17].

Lead Changes: Two among two drivers.

Lap Leader(s): Ty Majeski 1-85, Justin Allgaier 86, Ty Majeski 87-125

Laps Led: Ty Majeski 124, Justin Allgaier 1.

Hard Charger: 18-Ty Gibbs (+18)

Cautions: Nine for 45 laps.

Margin of Victory: 1.021 seconds.

Time of Race: 56 minutes, 3.908 seconds.

Average Speed: 71.702 mph.

Fastest Qualifier: 45-Ty Majeski, 19.954 seconds (96.702 mph).

Fastest Lap: 45-Ty Majeski, Lap 107, 20.052 seconds (96.230 mph).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *