MG 4181

Sammy Smith Leads ARCA East Practice at Nashville Fairgrounds Speedway

ARCA Series

By Christian Koelle, Staff Writer

NASHVILLE, Tenn. – ARCA Menards Series East points leader Sammy Smith led the way in the sole practice session in Nashville. 

The Joe Gibbs Racing driver paced the famed Speedway in downtown Nashville turning a 19.680-second (109.024 mph.) lap. Smith turned his fastest lap on his last lap in the session, lap 36. 

Daniel Dye was second in the session, .090-seconds off of Smith. Parker Retzlaff finished the session in third while Nashville native Mason Mingus and Joey Iest rounded out the top five.

Practice Results from Nashville Fairgrounds Speedway

Conner Jones, making his ARCA East Series debut, finished the session in sixth. Rajah Caruth, New Smyrna winner Max Gutiérrez, Mason Diaz, and Carson Kvapil rounded out the top-10 speeds.

There was a 2.570-second differential between first and 12th. Under a second difference between first and ninth. 

Qualifying is slated to begin at 4:15 p.m. CT / 5:15 p.m. ET and the race will follow starting at 8:30 p.m. CT / 9:30 p.m. ET. 

Tagged
Christian Koelle
Christian Koelle returns to Kickin' the Tires in 2022 for his second season. Koelle mainly covers the ARCA Menards Series, East, and West for Kickin' but also provides photography. He also serves as the Executive Vice President with Overbey Photography handling scheduling and assignments. Christian's favorite tracks are Nashville Superspeedway, Barber Motorsports Park, Iowa Speedway, Martinsville Speedway, Talladega Superspeedway, Nashville Fairgrounds Speedway, Salem Speedway, and Phoenix Raceway to name a few.
https://cckphotography.myportfolio.com/

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.