Trent Ivey dominates FS1 Late Model Invitational

Photo by SETH EGGERT for KICKIN' THE TIRES / iRacing

By Seth Eggert, Staff Writer

With the spotlight on the World of Outlaws Late Models, Trent Ivey dominated the World of Outlaws iRacing Pro Invitational at the virtual Dirt Track at Charlotte.

The 25-year-old took the lead of the stacked 20-car field on lap 10 and never looked back. Despite several cautions, Ivey simply cruised ahead of the field. With no challengers, the No. 88 took the checkered flag, and the $1,000 purse, by 1.630 seconds over Kaeden Cornell, the polesitter.

“I really get a kick out of racing on this sim” admitted Ivey. “I know it’s not the really thing and it never will be, but it’s really close. I can’t believe it.

“Actually, I was racing Monday night and the computer blew up coming to the green. I was on the outside pole, so I feel like this one owed me. I had a good time in the Sprint Cars; finished fourth. I’m super excited, can’t believe it.”

Ivey took the lead from Nick Stroupe early in the event. Before his competition could find a rhythm to try and run him down, the caution waved. Contact between dirt late model veteran Scott Bloomquist and NHRA Funny Car veteran Cruz Pedregon sent the straight liner flipping into the infield.

Pedregon’s flip was just the first of the night. On the restart, it looked as if Stroupe had passed Ivey. However, further back in the pack, a dramatic crash between Nick Hoffman and Ashton Winger both get airborne. Hoffman landed on his wheels while Winger was upside down.

Monday night’s Late Model winner, Mike McKinney finished third with Kyle Larson and Corey Gordon rounding out the top-five. Dirt Late Model veterans Bobby Pierce and Chris Madden followed in sixth and seventh with Logan Seavey, Mike Mahaney, and Hoffman rounded out the top-10.

Reigning NASCAR Cup Series Champion Kyle Busch finished a distant 17th in Late Models after crashing out of the Sprint Car race.

Christopher Bell won the Sprint Car portion of the World of Outlaws iRacing Pro Invitational at the virtual Dirt Track at Charlotte

The Finish

1. 88-Trent Ivey [7], 2. 50-Kaeden Cornell [1], 3. 96-Mike McKinney [8], 4. 57-Kyle Larson [5], 5. 5-Corey Gordon [10], 6. 32-Bobby Pierce [17], 7. 0m-Chris Madden [19], 8. 1-Logan Seavey [6], 9. 35-Mike Mahaney [12], 10. 2h-Nick Hoffman [9], 11. 2-Carson Macedo [13], 12. 9-Devin Moran [18], 13. 45-Nick Stroupe [3], 14. 66-Matt Cosner [16], 15. 5b-Chase Briscoe [4], 16. 71-Cruz Pedregon [20], 17. 51-Kyle Busch [14], 18. 0-Scott Bloomquist [15], 19. 12-Ashton Winger [11], 20. 99-Matty Watkins [2].

Lead Changes: Four among three drivers.

Lap Leader(s): Kaeden Cornell 1, Nick Stroupe 2-9, Trent Ivey 10-50.

Laps Led: Trent Ivey 41, Nick Stroupe 8, Kaeden Cornell 1.

Hard Charger: 0m – Chris Madden (+12)

Cautions: Four for 18 laps.

Margin of Victory: 1.630 seconds

Average Speed: 61.633 mph

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *