Chase Purdy Wins Pole for Love’s RV Stop 250 at Talladega

LINCOLN, Ala. – As the only driver with an average speed over 179 mph, Chase Purdy (53.368 seconds) will lead the field to the green flag in Saturday’s Love’s RV Stop 250 at Talladega Superspeedway.

Despite not running for a championship in this year’s Playoffs, the Kyle Busch Motorsports driver fought for his second career pole in the NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series. His first came earlier this month at Kansas Speedway.

To his outside will be rookie and championship contender Nick Sanchez (53.653 seconds), who is the only Playoff driver remaining without a win recorded this year. Jake Garcia (54.010 seconds), Dean Thompson (54.049 seconds), and Ty Majeski (54.061 seconds) round out the top five.

Majeski starts this round 22 points below the cutoff after a hefty penalty after pre-race inspection at Milwaukee Mile that took away a valuable 5 Playoff points. A 19th place result at Bristol Motor Speedway gives the No. 98 Ford F-150 team just two races left to lock into the Championship 4 at Phoenix Raceway.

Jack Wood (54.087 seconds), Carson Hocevar (54.123 seconds), Ben Rhodes (54.136 seconds), Corey Heim (54.144 seconds), and Jake Drew (54.467 seconds) complete the top 10. Hocevar will also qualify the No. 42 Legacy Motor Club Chevrolet in the NASCAR Cup Series later in the afternoon. Heim is locked into the Championship 4 after his victory at Bristol earlier in the Round of 8.

Drew ties his best career start in the Truck series with a 10th at Kansas. Saturday afternoon will be Drew’s first career start on a superspeedway.

The remaining Playoff drivers start further back with Christian Eckes (16th, 54.355 seconds), Zane Smith (18th, 54.379 seconds) and Grant Enfinger (25th, 54.634 seconds).

2019 Talladega winner Spencer Boyd failed to qualify, along with Jennifer Jo Cobb, Keith McGee, and Clay Greenfield. With Matt DiBenedetto being released from Rackley WAR Racing before season’s end, the last five winners at the 2.66-mile oval are not running Saturday’s event.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *