Kyle Larson captures first Chili Bowl win

Photo By: Nigel Kinrade Photography / NKP

By Sarah Handy, Staff Writer

Kyle Larson captured his first Chili Bowl Nationals victory on Saturday night when he passed Christopher Bell with 17 laps left.

Bell was looking for his fourth-consecutive win in the prestigious midget race. While Larson on the other hand was looking to be mistake free in hopes of his first win in the event.

Larson was absolutely flawless and perfect when he had to be.

With a restart on lap 39 of the 55-lap event, Larson was able to slip by Bell and hold the lead en-route to the victory in his 13th attempt.

“I’m sorry NASCAR, I’m sorry Daytona, but this is the biggest (effing) race I’ve ever won. “I hope to win Daytona in a few weeks, but this is bad ass.”

In last years Chili Bowl Nationals, he made an error on the final lap, giving up the lead and ultimately the win to Bell who took the lead in the final corner.

This year, Bell was looking to become just the second driver in Chili Bowl history to win four in a row but ultimately found himself finishing second.

Rounding out the top-five were Cannon McIntosh in third, followed by Logan Seavey in fourth and Rico Abreu in fifth.

Among Larson and Bell, other NASCAR competitors that competed in the various races on Saturday evening were Alex Bowman, and JJ Yeley who both failed to advance from the B2 Main.

Ryan Newman failed to advance from the D1 Main, Ricky Stenhouse Jr. failed to advance from the C1 Main and Chase Briscoe failed to advance from the B1 Main.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *