What You Need To Know Today (02/15): Daytona 500 Starting Lineup

Credit: Jared C. Tilton/Getty Images


Daytona 500 starting lineup set following Thursday night Duel races

  • Though Thursday night’s Bluegreen Vacations Duel races were run in order to set the field for the Daytona 500, the front row had already been determined on Sunday during single-car quliafying, with Ricky Stenhouse Jr. (pole-sitter) and Alex Bowman taking up the front row
  • The Duel races would determine the lineup for the rest of the 40-car field, with Duel 1 setting the lineup for the inside row and Duel 2 setting the lineup of the outside row
  • There were also seven non-chartered drivers (meaning they were not already guaranteed a spot in Sunday’s race) competing for only four remaining positions
  • Joey Logano won Duel 1, while William Byron earned the victory in Duel 2, meaning they will start the race in third and fourth, respectively
  • Aric Almirola will round out the top five on Sunday following his second-place run in Duel #1
  • Starting 6th through 10th in order will be Jimmie Johnson, Ryan Newman, Kyle Larson, Brad Keselowski, and Kevin Harvick
  • Daniel Suarez, Chad Finchum, and JJ Yeley failed to qualify
  • Non-chartered drivers Justin Haley and Brendan Gaughan were able to lock themselves into the 500 during single-car qualifying
  • Reed Sorenson and Timmy Hill earned their spots during their respective Duel races
  • Here is the full starting lineup:
  • Starting Position Driver Team
    1. Ricky Stenhouse Jr. JTG Daugherty Racing
    2. Alex Bowman Hendrick Motorsports
    3. Joey Logano Team Penske
    4. William Byron Hendrick Motorsports
    5. Aric Almirola Stewart-Haas Racing
    6. Jimmie Johnson Hendrick Motorsports
    7. Ryan Newman Roush Fenway Racing
    8. Kyle Larson Chip Ganassi Racing
    9. Brad Keselowski Team Penske
    10. Kevin Harvick Stewart-Haas Racing
    11. Bubba Wallace Richard Petty Motorsports
    12. Cole Custer Stewart-Haas Racing
    13 Austin Dillon Richard Childress Racing
    14. Erik Jones Joe Gibbs Racing
    15. Martin Truex Jr. Joe Gibbs Racing
    16. Matt DiBenedetto Wood Brothers Racing
    17. Christopher Bell Leavine Family Racing
    18. Kurt Busch Chip Ganassi Racing
    19. Chris Buescher Roush Fenway Racing
    20. Ross Chastain Spire Motorsports
    21. Denny Hamlin Joe Gibbs Racing
    22. Tyler Reddick Richard Childress Racing
    23. John Hunter Nemechek Front Row Motorsports
    24. Ty Dillon Germain Racing
    25. Chase Elliott Hendrick Motorsports
    26. Michael McDowell Front Row Motorsports
    27. Ryan Blaney Team Penske
    28. Kyle Busch Joe Gibbs Racing
    29. Clint Bowyer Stewart-Haas Racing
    30. David Ragan Rick Ware Racing
    31. Ryan Preece JTG Daugherty Racing
    32. Timmy Hill* MBM Motorsports*
    33. Justin Haley* Kaulig Racing*
    34. Brennan Poole Premium Motorsports
    35. Quin Houff StarCom Racing
    36. Corey LaJoie GO FAS Racing
    37. Joey Gase Petty Ware Racing
    38. BJ McLeod Rick Ware Racing
    39. Brendan Gaughan* Beard Motorsports*
    40. Reed Sorenson* Premium Motorsports*


More info: Story from KickinTheTires.net’s Tim PackmanStory from KTT’s Jerry JordanStory from KTT’s Seth Eggert


William Byron paces Friday Cup Series practice session

  • After winning Duel No. 2 on Thursday night, thus earning a starting spot in the second row for Sunday’s Daytona 500, 22-year-old William Byron followed it up by running the fastest lap in a lone practice session for the NASCAR Cup Series at Daytona International Speedway on Friday
  • Byron’s lap time was 43.991 seconds at 204.587 mph
  • Second through fourth (in order) were Ryan Preece, Chase Elliott, Ty Dillon, and Tyler Reddick
  • The series will have one final practice session on Saturday, February 15th from 12:30PM ET to 1:20PM ET (FS1)
  • The 62nd running of the Daytona 500 will run the next day at 2:30PM ET (FOX)

More info: Full resultsReport from RacingNews.co’s Shane WaltersTV schedule


NASCAR, RTA extend Charter agreement

  • On Friday, NASCAR announced that they would be extending their Charter agreement — a program that provides guaranteed starting spots to 36 Cup Series teams — through 2024
  • The agreement was reached in collaboration with the Race Team Alliance and NASCAR Cup Series team owners
  • The Charter system was initially implemented in 2016 with a five-year term
  • The rules surrounding the agreement allow for a Charter to be leased or sold to another team for a maximum of one year, and for the team to potentially lose their Charter if they finish in the bottom three of the owner standings for three consecutive years

More info: Details about the charter systemReport from Racer.com’s Kelly CrandallAbout the Race Team Alliance


More motorsports news … 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *